ABIM American Board of Internal Medicine Exam

ABIM American Board of Internal Medicine Exam

ABIM Certification demonstrates that physicians have met rigorous standards through intensive study, self-assessment and evaluation. Additionally, Certification encompasses the six general competencies established by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) and sets the stage for continual professional development through values centered on lifelong learning. In order to be certified, a physician must:

  • Complete the requisite predoctoral medical education
  • Meet the training requirements
  • Meet the licensure requirements and procedural requirements
  • Pass an ABIM Certification examination

Eligibility For ABIM American Board Of Internal Medicine Exam

The requirements for earning the initial Focused Practice in Hospital Medicine (FPHM) certificate are different than other MOC programs. In order to earn an initial FPHM certification diplomats must:

  • Hold valid, unrestricted medical license and confirmation of good standing in the local practice community.
  • Pass the Hospital Medicine MOC exam.
  • Have completed 100 points of self-evaluation within the past 10 years. 60 points must have been completed in the last three years. 20 points must be in medical knowledge and 40 points must be in practice performance.

Format Of ABIM American Board Of Internal Medicine Exam

Exam features multiple choice questions with a single best answer. MCQs have shown that scores obtained are related to quality training and later performance. MCQs are particularly suitable for simulating clinical decision making. The majority of ABIM examination questions use a clinical stem format that assesses the higher order cognitive abilities required for clinical decision making.